ImageIn honor of Breast Cancer Awareness Month, paint the town pink by wearing any shade of pink!

I had my first mammogram last week and I must say that it was an experience. I was so nervous and sweating profusely that the assistant asked if I would be alright. She went on to say that it is not that bad, just a bit uncomfortable.

Tracie Albertie, I hear the nurse say and my heart is beating a mile a minute and the sweat is still popping. The nurse guides me into the room and proceeds to tell me what will happen during this exam. I really did not hear anything as I stood there in my not so fashionable gown looking at the machine that will soon squish my boobs flat as pancakes. The nurse proceeds to place my breast onto the machine and then it is off to the races.  Needless to say, I had the nurse laughing as I was being compressed by stating, “a man had to have created this machine!”  I made it through my first mammogram and it was all worth the self induced drama.

Just a little mammo education;

After some research, indeed the machine was said to be created by two men, Dr. Andre Willemin and Dr Charles Gros in 1965.  Albert Salomon is considered to be the inventor of breast radiology.

I know there has to be a better way, but until then ladies be sure to schedule your mammograms annually.

Aspire to Be Pretty & Positive in Pink!!

 

 

